



Tayfun E. Tezduyar Chair

Ares J. Rosakis Vice Chair Kenneth M. Liechti Program Chair Lawrence A. Bergman Program Vice Chair Huajian Gao Secretary

Call for Award Nominations

The Applied Mechanics Division seeks nominations for the awards listed below. All awards are international. Each nomination should include a nomination form and 4-5 letters of support, as described at http://www.asme.org/Governance/Honors/SocietyAwards/Nominate.cfm. Each nomination should be **emailed** as a **single PDF file** to the chair of the Applied Mechanics Division, Tayfun Tezduyar (tezduyar@gmail.com) by **5 November 2010**. This deadline is firm. Nominations submitted after this deadline will be considered for the subsequent award year.

Timoshenko Medal

The Timoshenko Medal, established in 1957, is conferred in recognition of distinguished contributions to the field of applied mechanics. Instituted by the Applied Mechanics Division, it honors Stephen P. Timoshenko, world-renowned authority in the field, and it commemorates his contributions as author and teacher.

Warner T. Koiter Medal

The Warner T. Koiter Medal, established in 1996, is bestowed in recognition of distinguished contributions to the field of solid mechanics with special emphasis on the effective blending of theoretical and applied elements of the discipline, and on a high degree of leadership in the international solid mechanics community.

Daniel C. Drucker Medal

The Daniel C. Drucker Medal, established in 1997, is conferred in recognition of distinguished contributions to the field of applied mechanics and mechanical engineering through research, teaching and service to the community over a substantial period of time.

Thomas K. Caughey Dynamics Award

The Thomas K. Caughey Dynamics Award, established in 2008, and is conferred in recognition of an individual who has made significant contributions to the field of nonlinear dynamics through practice, research, teaching, and/or outstanding leadership.

Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award

The Applied Mechanics Award was established in 1988 and renamed the Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award in 2008. The Award is given to an outstanding individual for significant contributions in the practice of engineering mechanics; contributions may result from innovation, research, design, leadership or education.

Thomas J.R. Hughes Young Investigator Award

The Young Investigator Award was established in 1998 and renamed the Thomas J.R. Hughes Young Investigator Award in 2008. The Award recognizes special achievements in Applied Mechanics for researchers under the age of 40.

Further award descriptions are given at http://divisions.asme.org/amd/Honors_Awards.cfm.